ITIL 2011 Certification Service Lifecycle -                   Service Design

Course Description

This 3 day hands on program leads to a Certificate in ITIL Service Lifecycle Management - Service Design. This program is for IT professionals working within, or about to enter, an IT environment requiring a detailed understanding of the processes, functions and activities associated with the Service Design domain of the ITIL® Service Lifecycle. Upon successful completion of the education and examination, students can expect to gain competencies in the following IT Service Design areas:
• Introduction to Service Design
• Service Design Principles
• Service Design Processes
• Service Design technology related activities
• Organization and technology for Service Design
• Understanding Implementation approaches, Challenges, Critical success factors & risks 

Who Should Attend

The Service Lifecycle series will be of interest to candidates wishing to obtain knowledge of V3 practices within the Service Lifecycle context. Prime focus is the Lifecycle itself, the use of process and practice elements used within it and the management capabilities needed to deliver quality Service Management practices in an organization.
Typical Job roles include
• Service Design Managers
• Enterprise Architects
• Business Analysts
• Project Managers
• Solution Developers
• Service Level Managers
• Service Catalog Manager
• Service Planners

Course Outline

• Introduction to Service Design
• Service Design Principles
o Scope
o Value to the Business
o Service Design Model
o Key Aspects of Service Design
o Implementation Planning
o Roles and Activity Analysis
o Risks, CSFs, and Challenges
• Service Design Processes
o Design Coordination
o Service Catalog Management
o Service Level Management
o Capacity Management
o Availability Management
o Security Management
o IT Service Continuity Management
o Supplier Management
• Service Design Technology related activities
o Enterprise Architecture
o Design and Management Tools
o Requirements Engineering
• Organization and Roles for Service Design
• Implementation Approaches


ITIL Foundation Certificate in IT Service Management along with IT or ITSM operational experience.


An optional eight question, ninety minute, closed book multiple choice, multi-part, scenario based examination is administered by an independent proctor at the end of the course. Certification is through the Information Systems Examination Board (ISEB). Candidates must have attended an accredited training course (instructor led or online) to sit for the exam. Each student will be awarded three credits towards ITIL Expert® certification upon successful completion of the exam.

Credits Earned

• 3 ITIL Expert Credits
• 22 PDU Credits