ITIL 2011 Certification Service Lifecycle -                      Service Operation

Course Description

This 3 day hands on program leads to a Certificate in ITIL Service Lifecycle Management - Service Operation. This program provides detailed information on the processes, functions, tools, roles, and implementation support needed to deliver and sustain quality IT Services in the live production environment.

Who Should Attend

This program is for IT professionals working within, or about to enter, an IT environment requiring a detailed understanding of the processes, functions and activities associated with the Service Operation domain of the ITIL® Service Lifecycle. These include
• Service Desk personnel and management
• Technical Support personnel and management
• Data Center Operations personnel and Management
• Security Operations personnel and Management
• Application Support Personnel and Management
• Project and Program Managers looking to better integrate Operational Readiness 

Upon successful completion of the education and examination, students can expect to gain competencies in the following IT Service Operation areas:
• Introduction to Service Operation
• Service Operations Principles
o Scope
o Value to the Business
o Achieving Balance in Service Operations
 Reactive/Proactive
 Internal/External
 Quality/Cost
 Stability/Responsiveness
o Operational Health
o Communications
• Service Operation Processes
o Event Mgmt
o Incident Mgmt
o Problem Mgmt
o Request Fulfillment
o Access Management
• Common Service Operation Activities
o Monitoring and Control
o Mainframe
o Server
o Network
o Storage
o Database
o Directory Services
o Desktop
o Middleware
o Internet
o Facilities and Datacenter
o Security
• Organizing Service Operation: Functions
o Service Desk
o Technical Management
o Applications Mgmt
o IT Operations Mgmt
• Organizational Structures
• Roles and Responsibilities
• Technology Considerations
• Implementation Considerations


ITIL Foundation Certificate in IT Service Management along with IT or ITSM operational experience.


An optional eight question, ninety minute, closed book multiple choice, multi-part, scenario based examination is administered by an independent proctor at the end of the course. Certification is through the Information Systems Examination Board (ISEB). Candidates must have attended an accredited training course (instructor led or online) to sit for the exam. Each student will be awarded three credits towards ITIL Expert® certification upon successful completion of the exam. 

Credits Earned

• 3 ITIL Expert Credits
• 22 PDU Credits