ITIL 2011 Certification Service Lifecycle - Service Transition

Course Description

This 3 day hands on program leads to a Certificate in ITIL Service Lifecycle Management - Service Transition. This program is for IT professionals working within, or about to enter, an IT environment requiring a detailed understanding of the processes, functions and activities associated with the Service Transition domain of the ITIL™ Service Lifecycle. Upon successful completion of the education and examination, students can expect to gain competencies in the following IT Service Transition areas:
• Introduction to Service Transition
• Service Transition Principles
• Service Transition Processes
• Service Transition related activities
• Organization and technology for Service Transition
• Understanding Implementation approaches, Service Transition roles, Challenges, Critical success factors and risks.

Who Should Attend

The Service Lifecycle series will be of interest to candidates wishing to obtain knowledge of V3 practices within the Service Lifecycle context. Prime focus is the Lifecycle itself, the use of process and practice elements used within it and the management capabilities needed to deliver quality Service Management practices in an organization.
These job roles may include
• Technical Support Management and Staff
• Change, Configuration, Release, and Deployment Management and Staff
• Testing and Validation Management and Staff
• Knowledge Management Staff
• Project and Program Managers who would like better managed and smoother project rollouts with fewer incidents and customer service disruptions

Course Outline

• Introduction to Service Transition
• Service Transition Principles
o Service Transition Model
o Scope
o Value to the Business
o Service V Model
o Governance
o Quality
o Risks, CSFs, and Challenges
• Service Transition Processes
o Transition and Support Management
o Change Management
o Service Asset and Configuration Management
o Release and Deployment Management
o Service Validation and Testing Management
o Evaluation Management
o Knowledge Management
• Service Transition related activities
o Communications
o Organizational Change Strategy
o Stakeholder Management
• Organization and Key Roles
• Technology and Key Tools
• Implementation Approaches 


ITIL Foundation Certificate in IT Service Management along with IT or ITSM operational experience.


An optional eight question, ninety minute, closed book multiple choice, multi-part, scenario based examination is administered by an independent proctor at the end of the course. Certification is through the Information Systems Examination Board (ISEB). Candidates must have attended an accredited training course (instructor led or online) to sit for the exam. Each student will be awarded three credits towards ITIL Expert® certification upon successful completion of the exam.

Credits Earned

• 3 ITIL Expert Credits
• 22 PDU Credits