ITIL 2011 Certification Service Lifecycle -

Continual Service Improvement (CSI) 

Course Description

This 3 day hands on program leads to a Certificate in ITIL V3 Service Lifecycle Management - Continual Service Improvement. This program is for IT professionals working within, or about to enter, an IT environment requiring a detailed understanding of the processes, functions and activities associated with the Continual Service Improvement domain of the ITIL® Service Lifecycle.
Driving the cultural change needed to make CSI a fundamental part of your organization is critical to your success! In this program you will learn practical skills in driving the systemic change that is needed to make CSI really “continual” and to drive improving process and service maturity across your organization.

Upon successful completion of the education and examination, students can expect to gain competencies in the following IT Continual Service Improvement areas:
• Introduction to Continual Service Improvement
• Continual Service Improvement Principles
• Continual Service Improvement Process
• Continual Service Improvement Methods and Techniques
• Continual Service Improvement technology related activities
• Organization and technology for Continual Service Improvement
• Understanding Implementation approaches, Challenges, Critical success factors and Risks

Who Should Attend

The Service Lifecycle series will be of interest to candidates wishing to obtain knowledge of V3 practices within the Service Lifecycle context. Prime focus is the Lifecycle itself, the use of process and practice elements used within it and the management capabilities needed to deliver quality Service Management practices in an organization.
Job Roles include
• Service Manager
• Quality Assurance Manager
• Six Sigma, LEAN, or other Quality Program Managers
• IT Directors and other Service and Process Owners

Course Outline
• Introduction to Continual Service Improvement
• Continual Service Improvement Principles
o CSI Model
o Improvement Drivers
o Organizational Change to a CSI View
o Benchmarking
o Service Level Management
o SWOT Analysis
o Ownership
o Service Measurement
o Knowledge Management – DIKW
o Governance
o Integration with other Frameworks, Models, and Quality Systems
• Continual Service Improvement Process
o 7-Step Improvement Process
o Defining Data Requirements
o Defining Data Capability
o Gathering Data
o Processing Data
o Analyzing Data
o Processing and Using Data
o Implementing Process/Service Improvements
• Sustaining CSI
• Continual Service Improvement Roles and Responsibilities
o Service Manager
o Service Owner
o Process Owners
o CSI Manager
• Continual Service Improvement Tools and Technology
• Measuring and Reporting Frameworks
• Implementation Approaches
• Challenges, CSFs, and Risks


ITIL Foundation Certificate in IT Service Management along with IT or ITSM operational experience.


An optional eight question, ninety minute, closed book multiple choice, multi-part, scenario based examination is administered by an independent proctor at the end of the course. Certification is through the Information Systems Examination Board (ISEB). Candidates must have attended an accredited training course (instructor led or online) to sit for the exam. Each student will be awarded three credits towards ITIL Expert® certification upon successful completion of the exam.

Credits Earned


• 3 ITIL Expert Credits
• 22 PDU Credits