ITIL 2011 Certification Foundation

Course Description

This 3 day hands-on 2011 Foundation certification training program introduces the student to the fundamentals of IT Service Management as described in version 3 of the IT Infrastructure Library. Accredited by ISEB and EXIN, the course helps students prepare for the certification exam along with acquiring valuable insights from instructors with extensive practical experience in managing IT organizations and deploying successful ITIL-based Service Management programs. This course features lectures, discussion, team exercises and quizzes. It culminates with an optional, one-hour certification examination.

Who Should Attend

This course is suitable for all IT Management and Staff who need to understand the Service Lifecycle and their role in provisioning quality services for their customers.

Course Outline

 • Day 1
o Introduction
o ITIL Concepts
 Good Practices
 Services
 Processes
 Roles
 Functions
 Governance
o Continuous Service Improvement
 Goals and Objectives
 Value to the Business
 CSI Model
 Integration with other Frameworks, Models, and Quality Systems
 CSI Drivers
 Deming PDCA
 7-Step Improvement Model
 RACI Matrix
 Ownership and its role in driving CSI
o Service Operation
 Goals and Objectives
 Value to the Business
 Incident Management
 Problem Management
 Event Management
 Request Fulfillment
 Access Management
 SO Functions
 Service Desk
 Technical Mgmt
 IT Operations Mgmt
 Application Mgmt
 Enabling Tools and Technology
• Day 2
o Review Day 1
o Service Transition
 Goals and Objectives
 Value to the Business
 Service V Model
 Transition and Support Mgmt
 Change Mgmt
 Service Asset and Configuration Mgmt
 Configuration Management Systems
 Definitive Media Library
 Release and Deployment Mgmt
 Service Testing and Validation Mgmt
 Evaluation Mgmt
 Knowledge Mgmt
 Enabling Tools and Technology
o Service Design
 Goals and Objectives
 Value to the Business
 4 Ps of Service Design
 Service Catalog Mgmt
 Service Level Mgmt
 Availability Mgmt
 Capacity Mgmt
 Security Mgmt
 IT Service Continuity Mgmt
 Supplier Mgmt
 Tactical Aspects of Service Design
 5 key aspects of a service design
 Roles and responsibilities
 Enabling Tools and Technology
• Day 3
o Review Day 2
o Service Strategy
 4 P’s of Service Strategy
 4 step Service Strategy Process
 Service Portfolio Mgmt
 Demand Mgmt
 Financial Mgmt
 Business Case
 Enabling Tools and Technology
o Review Program
o Self-Study, Exam Prep.

Who Should Attend

Senior IT and business executives, IT management and staff, consultants, project managers and others interested in learning about IT Service Management. 




An optional 1-hour, 40 question, closed book multiple choice examination is administered by an independent proctor at the end of the course. Certification is through CSME. 

Credits Earned

• 2 ITIL Expert Credits
• 18 PDU Credits